Use Mathematics for the Social Good?

I am going to keep this short today: I am really excited about Moon Duchin’s plan to create an army of expert witness mathematicians for gerrymandering cases. This is going to be a summer class at Tufts, with other courses planned for Wisconsin, North Carolina, Texas, and San Francisco. I am really interested in doing this, but I want to educate myself more on gerrymandering first.

How many other such volunteer groups are there? I can think of:Statistics without Borders. I thought there was a similar one for “Operations Research without Borders,” but I can’t find anything on it.

Can anyone think of other organizations?

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

