My return

This is a quick post to announce that I intend to start blogging again. After several years of being really good, I overcommitted to things last week. I also overcommitted to things this semester, but I am trying to build several things into my schedule anyway.

Here are the ways that I am overcommitting.

  1. My school is completely re-doing our general education program. I have been third-in-command of the effort, and that took enormous amounts of time last semester. This work will continue this semester, but I think it will be less work.
  2. I am assistant direct of our honors program this semester. Our goal is to consider re-shaping Honors according to what they learned from program review.
  3. I am in charge of program review for the Department of Mathematics this semester.

I will write more about this in coming weeks.

13 Responses to “My return”

  1. Andy "SuperFly" Rundquist Says:

    Welcome back, we’ve missed you! Also, I need to pick your brain about general ed stuff now that I’ve got “dean” in my title 🙂

    • bretbenesh Says:

      Hi Andy,

      It is nice to be back. I would love to talk general education with you at some point. We are hoping to make a trip to WSP within the next month—perhaps we could meet for breakfast? Bret

  2. TJ Says:

    One of those is enough. All three? hang in there my friend.

    I am leading up our Math dept curriculum reconsideration starting _right now_, so maybe we have some things to discuss.

    • bretbenesh Says:

      Dear TJ,

      One is enough. The good news is that I am getting paid for one of them this semester, and I will get paid for the third one next year. So at least my mortgage will benefit.

      What are you thinking about doing in your department? I am collecting ideas for program review, and I would love to hear your ideas. Bret

      • TJ Says:

        We have already done our formal academic program review. (Mandated every 7 yrs)

        Now we have to rethink everything from the ground up. I sung think my department has had this conversation in 20 years.

        So we are going to start with revising and refining our Student Learning Outcomes for the major. Lots to do after that, but that comes first.

      • bretbenesh Says:

        Starting with Student Learning Outcomes seems like an all-too-reasonable thing to do.

      • TJ Says:

        Reasonable like eating your spinach. I would have said broccoli, but I like broccoli. Spinach can take a hike, though.

      • bretbenesh Says:

        Try putting spinach in with pasta with a peanut butter sauce. It definitely improves the dish, rather than just being there to be good for you.

        If you want it to be extra-awesome, put Sriracha on it, too.

  3. Pinky Says:

    I can’t wait to hear more from you!

  4. bretbenesh Says:

    Thanks also to my wonderful wife who caught a couple of typos in the post.

  5. Joss Ives Says:

    Delighted to have you back 🙂

Leave a Reply

