Deep Work: Aborted Plan

This is a continuation of my thoughts on Cal Newport’s Deep Work idea.  Very briefly, I am going to describe a plan that I didn’t follow through on that would have worked really well.

I get up at 6:30 am each morning.  My plan was to get up at 4:30 am instead, work for two hours on deep work before my kids got up, and then continue with my day.  I got up early before when my older child was a baby, and it worked well.  This would have the added advantage that I would come home from work an hour earlier (since I worked two hours in the morning), giving me more time with my family.  On top of that, I like to run to and from work, and my biggest barrier to that is Daylight Saving; I live up North, so it gets dark early.  I run on a highway, and it is not safe to do so in the dark.  By coming home an hour earlier, I would be able to run home pretty much right now (if I can get over my wimpiness about running in the cold).  This also means that we spend less money on gas.

So why I am not doing this?  There are two main reasons:  in order to get enough sleep, I would go to bed two hours earlier.  Night-time is the only time for me to have alone time, which is important to me.  Also:  morning is the only time that my wife gets alone time.

So I my best plan is to try to carve out as much time during the work day as I can, and resign myself to the fact that I won’t be able to do deep work every day.

3 Responses to “Deep Work: Aborted Plan”

  1. Deep Work: Broken Internet Addiction | Solvable by Radicals Says:

    […] « Deep Work: Aborted Plan […]

  2. Deep Work: youcanbook.me | Solvable by Radicals Says:

    […] is another part of the series on Cal Newport’s Deep Work idea (and this one and this one).   I wanted to reduce distractions, and email is a pretty big distraction to me.  […]

  3. Deep Work: Imperfection | Solvable by Radicals Says:

    […] is another part of the series on Cal Newport’s Deep Work idea (and this one, this one,  and this one).  I have been swamped the last couple of weeks with meetings and […]

Leave a Reply

