Speeding Up Videos

I had my 20 elementary education majors produce video projects. These were all due at the end of the semester, which means I have to grade them all now. Each student produced roughly seven 4-minute videos, which means that I have roughly 10 hours of video watching to do as part of my grading.

Or do I? I downloaded this app for my Chromebook, and I have been watching the videos at twice or triple the usual speed (depending how quickly the student naturally talks), cutting my time watching videos to 3–5 hours with no loss of grading quality.

I am very grateful for this app today.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Speeding Up Videos”

  1. Pinky Says:

    This is so cool! Thanks for the link!

    • bretbenesh Says:

      I was pretty happy about it. My only concern is that I think I gave it access to all of the websites I visit. On the other hand, I think that I am willing to trade that bit of privacy for the time I save with the videos.

  2. Joss Ives Says:

    Nice lifehack Bret. With all the video-based submissions, speeding things up is a huge time saver. I have also found speeding things up invaluable when assessing pencasts.

    • bretbenesh Says:

      1. Does Livescribe automatically let you speed up pencasts? (I assume you use Livescribe).
      2. What do you have the students use pencasts for?
      Bret

      • Joss Ives Says:

        1. The original livescribe echos let you speed up the pencasts. They have apparently made a complete mess with the new echos and I think this is no longer a feature.

        2. I used them like Andy has in the past. Get them to submit the odd written homework problem by pencast.

      • bretbenesh Says:

        That sounds like a good way of doing homework. If only I had more Livescribe pens. . .

Leave a Reply

