Do I miss being on Twitter and Facebook?

No.

It has been a month since I took a leave from Facebook and Twitter, I thought that I might miss it, and I was prepared to admit failure after a week if I found that I missed them too much.

But I don’t. I think that social media is the sort of thing that you enjoy when it is there, but don’t miss when it is gone. This might just be me, though (watching sports is similar; I enjoy it when it happens, but I don’t miss it when I can’t watch).

Actually, there is one thing that I miss: I miss having more ways to procrastinate at work. I find myself looking for more websites to click, and I am disappointed when I realize that there is nothing else on the web that I already know I want to look at. This, of course, is a good thing.

So what have I been doing with my time? I think that I have spent a little more time on Google Plus, although not much more. I have been blogging a bit more—maybe 1.5 posts per week instead of 0.5. At home, I think that I really have been spending more time with my kids, which is a huge win. At work, I think that I have been, well, working more. This means that I have gotten done with projects sooner, and I have generally had fewer things hanging over my head.

I actually have had some presence on Twitter and Facebook, since I receive emails when someone mentions me. But this has only happened roughly six times this month. I replied, but I was not logged in for very long.

I have no plans of going back to Twitter or Facebook soon. I think that I will likely re-evaluate after this semester is over.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Do I miss being on Twitter and Facebook?”

  1. Joss Ives Says:

    I think your analogy to watching sports is bang-on and I would add one additional similarity: they both provide fodder for small-talk in social situations.

    • bretbenesh Says:

      Hi Joss,

      Great observation. I completely forgot that sports and social media are useful for that. This is because I have two small children, so it has been four years since I have been in a “social situation.”

      So maybe I should go back to social media once my kids are older. Bret

      On Mon, Sep 9, 2013 at 12:13 PM, Solvable by Radicals

  2. Kate Owens (@katemath) Says:

    I like Twitter (more than G+) because it is easy to read in 45-seconds, which is about how long my “free time” spurts usually last. Think: In car pick-up waiting line at school. While waiting for gas to pump. Waiting for Eggo to pop out of toaster.

    I feel like I’m missing way too much on G+, because the conversations are much longer and I don’t have time to read them enough to keep up. But I also don’t have an office with a door that closes, and I honestly cannot recall the last time I was in a room by myself.

    • bretbenesh Says:

      Hi Kate,

      I hope that you stay on Google Plus, although I can understand that Twitter might fit your life better. I don’t have a phone that supports Twitter, so I think that you and I probably use social media differently.

      I appreciate you trying G+, and I hope I still get to talk to you here! Bret

      On Sat, Oct 5, 2013 at 1:05 PM, Solvable by Radicals

Leave a Reply

