RIP Jing Pro

I am very sad to report that my favorite screencasting software, Jing Pro, has been discontinued as of February 28, 2013 (The non-Pro version of Jing is still availble, though).

Jing Pro was my favorite tool for making quick and dirty screencasts. I liked that it was easy to use, uploaded to YouTube with a click of a button, and had no advertising (it cost me $15 per year to upload to YouTube for the last two features; the regular version of Jing has advertising and does not upload to YouTube).

(Edit: Andy Rundquist let me know that I was mistaken about Jing having advertising).

But I have found an alternative that I like as much: Screencast-O-Matic (note: I have not been paid by the makers of Jing nor Screencast-O-Matic; I am just a happy customer). Here is what I like about Screencast-O-Matic:

  1. It is easy to use.
  2. It is easy to upload videos to YouTube.
  3. There is no download required! (an improvement over Jing)
  4. There are ads in the free version (a banner advertising Screencast-O-Matic at the bottom of the screen), but not in the premium version (like Jing Pro, this costs $15 per year).

One difference between Jing/Jing Pro and Screencast-O-Matic: the former has a 5 minute limit, and the latter has a 15 minute limit.

The main drawback: Screencast-O-Matic seems to take much longer to upload to YouTube than Jing/Jing Pro does—probably by a factor of 4.

I will eventually get a premium version of Screencast-O-Matic, but I will not have enough screencasts to do in the near future to justify getting it now.

One final note: I tried to use Camtasia. Camtasia would be great if you want screencasts that are not quick and/or not dirty. It was way too much for me, and I did not want to pay the price of really long upload times for higher quality video.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “RIP Jing Pro”

  1. Natalie Scott Says:

    Hello! I’m Natalie Scott and I work for TechSmith, the company that makes Jing and Camtasia, the screencast software you mention in your post. I wanted to also suggest that you try Snagit as well. You’re right that Camtasia is not made for quick and easy screencasting, but Snagit should have the features you need without the 5 minute limit of Jing and with an output to YouTube. You can grab the free trial here if you’re interested! http://www.techsmith.com/download/snagit/default.asp

    Thanks!

  2. Scott Sorheim Says:

    Bret, I was just coming here to tell you about SnagIt, but obviously TechSmith beat me to it. I absolutely love it. I had both Jing Pro and SnagIt before, but SnagIt does everything Jing Pro did and it’s not an annual amount…it’s just more expensive up front. I don’t make a lot of videos, but I use the heck out of it for screen captures. It’s ridiculously easy to mark up and highlight images. Good stuff.

    • bretbenesh Says:

      Okay—now that it has the Sorheim endorsement, I am strongly considering getting it. The main problem is some hassle involving our IT department, but that might be worth it it.

      I will think about this again soon. Bret

      On Fri, Mar 29, 2013 at 9:37 AM, Solvable by Radicals

    • bretbenesh Says:

      I just bought it. Thanks to TechSmith and Scott for encouraging me. Thanks also to TechSmith for offering 50% off—I have been thinking that it was $50 after the Jing Pro-user discount, but it was actually only $25. That means the payback time is only 2 years (with shipping) vs the $15 per year membership for Screencast-O-Matic Pro. Bret

  3. Sarin Samuel Says:

    My Screen Recorder Pro is an excellent screencasting tool. Records your screen and audio from the speakers or your voice from the microphone – or both simultaneously. The recordings are clear and look great when played back on your PC or uploaded to YouTube. It will record directly to AVI, WMV, MP4, or FLV. Just perfect for creating tutorials, demos, and presentations.
    http://www.deskshare.com/video-screen-capture.aspx

Leave a Reply

