Streamlining Social Media

I was already planning on posting something on this, but Dana Ernst beat me to it. I have gotten a lot out of social media—it really is the best professional development tool around.

On the other hand, I am short on time. This means that I have to cut back on something, and it won’t be spending time with my wife and kids (I designed my professional life to make sure that I get plenty of time with them). The logical thing to go is some portion of my social media professional development.

I am not going to stop using any of my tools (mainly Twitter, Google Reader, and Google Plus), but I am going to be paring down the people in my feeds. This will happen some time after winter break. In many cases, this means that I have to cut out very interesting, smart, and supportive people; if this is you, please accept my apologies. I am planning on cutting down to people who directly help me become a better teacher.

Have a good break everyone. I will be back in 2013.

8 Responses to “Streamlining Social Media”

  1. Dana Ernst Says:

    I’m glad that I’m not the only one that can’t do everything.

  2. Erica Says:

    I think this is wise, even if it’s difficult. Good for you.

  3. Betsy Says:

    Bret~ I fully support this. I cut back significantly in July and my life has been all the better for it. I truly did not realize how much time I was spending reading blogs. When I quit, I legitimately wondered what would happen if I “missed something”. Turns out, what happened was I had more free time for family, outdoor activities, breathing space, meditation, life’s rich pageant, etc.

    it was hard because I did enjoy reading blogs as a hobby. And it’s not a *bad* hobby. I just found that doing less of it has a greater positive net result for me.

    I will not be offended at all if you unfriend me. I definitely do not post about teaching, or anything of value. And we’ll still have Facebook. And WSP!

    • bretbenesh Says:

      Betsy—you are on the “Safe” list. In fact, you bought yourself a lifetime membership to the Safe list with all of those Lost posts on MOAB.

      It sounds like you have cut back a ton. I am not cutting back nearly as much, although I am not sure why. Like everyone else, I have thought about quitting Facebook seventy times, but have never pulled the trigger.

      You have, however, caused me to redouble my efforts at getting rid of blogs. Thans for the encouragement! Bret

  4. SueJ Says:

    I am *trying* to turn Facebook into a sort of TV show: don’t log on until X o’clock (haven’t figured out what that will be once semester starts) and then be off in a half hour… log back on in the afternoon, same story. We’ll see 😉

    • bretbenesh Says:

      I have tried that in the past, and it didn’t work for me. However, I think it can work, I just haven’t been able to do it yet. Your comment pushed me to try this again next semester. I am planning (now that you suggested it) to put things like “Social Media” and “Research” into my calendar. The hard part is getting myself to actually follow my calendar.

      Have you had any early successes?
      Bret

Leave a Reply

