Video Quiz Solutions

I have been using standards-based grading for calculus I and calculus III this semester. In short, I quiz the students on questions from roughly 12 “topics.” These “topics” are the mechanical skills that students need to know to do calculus (e.g. “take derivatives,” “compute integrals,” “find tangent lines”). Each quiz question is tied to a topic, and labelled as such. Students need to get four questions correct on each topic by the end of the semester.

Dana Ernst made me realize that I can create video solutions for these. This has the dual effect of

  1. I can give the students more worked examples without taking up class time. Also, these worked examples are very relevant to the students, since they just thought about the problems.
  2. I can save time grading. I comment a lot less, since students can see how to do things correctly if they are just a little off (if the student completely misses the problem, I will still comment).

I post the solutions to my course management software (Moodle); I organize them by topic. So if a student has trouble finding tangent lines, they can simply go to that section of the Moodle page to see several worked examples in the same place.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Video Quiz Solutions”

  1. Andy "SuperFly" Rundquist Says:

    I really like using video for solutions (for exams, standards, etc). I find i don’t need to write as much because I can just talk it out. What’s interesting is that I sometimes find that “doing a problem” and “teaching an approach” can be very different. If I’m just giving a solution, sometimes I just run through the steps. If I want to teach an approach, i use a problem as context, but find I add a lot of contextual/tangential material. Just yesterday we had some students giving presentations in our physics seminar. We’re only assessing their presentation skills, so they were encouraged to just do a general physics-type problem. Some tried to teach, while others just did the problem out loud. What a big difference!

    • bretbenesh Says:

      Hi Andy,

      Can you tell me more about how you use videos for solutions to standards? I think that part of the problem might be that we might use the word “standard” (slightly) differently.

      Also, thanks for the terms “doing a problem” and “teaching an approach.” I have been having my students do a lot of presentations this semester, and distinguishing these two types of presentations would have been helpful (I would prefer for them to “teach an approach,” when possible). I might incorporate this language next semester.
      Bret

      • Andy "SuperFly" Rundquist Says:

        for standards, I will (often reluctantly and really only occasionally) show them how I might do a sample problem that meets the standard. That problem then becomes one they can only do to get a 3 (out of 4 on my scale).

      • bretbenesh Says:

        Thanks—that makes sense. Bret

  2. Quiz-Video Combination Instead of Lecture | Solvable by Radicals Says:

    […] I spent a lot of time creating solutions for every quiz problem. These are posted right after the quizzes so that students can get immediate feedback. This makes […]

Leave a Reply

