Kidney Stones

I was knocked out for three days last week with kidney stones. I could barely stand up, and I simply did not come in for work for three days. I expected to come to work overwhelmed with make-up work.

But I wasn’t. I credit my newest plan. I had prepared so much in the summer that missing three days was just a bump in the road. I cancelled my research for three days to make time to re-schedule with students, but I was completely caught up after three days.

Moreover, I had actually cancelled too much research time during those three days. At the end, I had not only met with all of my students, but I had also written two grants that had been lingering on my to-do list.

But the main lesson is this: make sure you drink a lot of water after you run. You do not want to get kidney stones.

Tags:

6 Responses to “Kidney Stones”

  1. Joss Ives Says:

    Ughh. Sounds terrible. Well except for the part that lost 3 days of work yet still came out ahead.

  2. Betsy Says:

    Oh no! I’ve heard those are quite painful. I hope you are feeling better now.

    • bretbenesh Says:

      It was pretty painful. But I am better now, and I actually think that I got off easy. Mine wasn’t too bad (but it was pretty bad).

      Thanks for your concern!
      Bret

  3. Meg Kosowski Says:

    Oh MAN! Glad you came through alright. I have avoided them so far and hopefully will continue to do so.

Leave a Reply

