Democracy

Here is an interesting article on democracy in the classroom. Regular readers know that I am a fan of democracy and democracy in the classroom, and I have been trying to incorporate this in my classrooms.

Interestingly enough: many of my students actually requested less democracy in their course evaluations. I had asked the students when the midterms should be, and many students reported that they preferred that I simply pick the midterm dates—they are students, and they can suck it up if the date is inconvenient for them.

They have a point in that we probably spent too much time on these discussions. However, I think that I could have handled the discussion more efficiently. I think that we could probably discuss this in 5-10 minutes instead of the 15-20 that we probably did.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

