Tip of the Day

My thesis advisor gave me a great piece of advice: never leave the office without giving your computer something to do.

Since then, I have tried to have a program running overnight whenever possible. This is not the greenest thing to do, but it is productive. Here are two things that I do regularly.

  1. I use the computational algebra system GAP in my research, and I try to have a program running whenever I am not at the computer.
  2. I participate in the Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search (GIMPS) to use my computer to find large primes.

Frankly, I haven’t been very good about having GAP programs run. However, it is very easy to search for primes–GIMPS has programs that are foolproof.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Tip of the Day”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Hi Bret,
    I have GIMPS running on my office computer also.
    Mark Lewis

  2. dhdung1309 Says:

    It is a very good advice. I think I should start doing this. Thanks.

    Dung.

Leave a Reply

